My Stitch Fix Has Arrived!

So I finally signed up with Stitch Fix, my new online wardrobe stylist!

If you haven’t heard of Stitch Fix, you basically go online, fill out a profile describing your personal style and size, and they’ll assign a “stylist” to shop for clothing and accessories for you.

IMG_5599

Each “fix” is five pieces, shipped directly to your house. You try them on and send back what you don’t like.

First Stitch Fix Contents

If you don’t think you have a “personal style,” don’t worry – I didn’t think so either – they make it super easy by asking lots of questions and having you rate pictures to fill out your profile.

It took about 2 weeks for my stylist to pick out some items and ship my first fix – here’s what I got:

Daniel Rainn Eyelet Detail Top

IMG_5619IMG_5623  IMG_5621

I really wanted to like this top!  It’s loose and comfortable. It’s also nice neutral color, so I could get decent mileage out of wearing it. It’s similar to something I’d choose on my own, with just a little more pizzazz. Turns out, it just didn’t look that great on me!  The detailing is more angular zig-zags than what I would call an “eyelet” pattern.  I actually think I would like it more if the cutouts were a little more feminine, perhaps round and floral.

Verdict:  Sending it back – I’ll have to find a way to tell my stylist that I want something like this – just not this 🙂

Daniel Rainn V-Neck Blouse

IMG_5617 IMG_5615 IMG_5624

Love, love, love the color!  Looking at this shirt in the box, I have to say I wasn’t sure.  It just didn’t look all that modern or interesting.  But the goal here is to expand the boundaries of my wardrobe, which means actually putting the clothes on my body instead of judging them from the hanger.  (Much easier done when you’re not having to drag the item in question into a cramped TJMaxx dressing room with a 7 items per person limit.) So I put it on, and it’s super cute!  It’s flowy, it’s comfortable, and it looks great on me. The detailing is subtle — bronze buttons, well-draped fabrics — all adding up to a beautiful blouse.

I’ll be honest, the elastic sleeves aren’t my favorite, but the pros far outweighed the cons on this one!

Verdict:  Keeping it – It’s light enough to wear in the summer and the ¾ sleeves can carry me easily through early Atlanta Fall!

Kut from the Kloth Boyfriend Jeans
Wow – sleeper hit!  So I opened my shipment and decided immediately that the jeans were going back!

IMG_5626

#1 – They look pretty much like the other three pairs of jeans I already own.

#2 – I was fairly certain they were too small, since I entered a “wishful thinking” pre-pregnancy pants size when I set up my profile.

#3 – I wasn’t wild about paying $78 for jeans when I can get $20 jeans from the consignment shop down the street!

I only tried them on because I needed to pair something with the tops, and they were right there in the box, saving me a trip to my “re-wearable jeans” pile in the closet.  Also – I’m a rule follower – and the rules say I needed to try on everything. So I did…

Turns out – the jeans were the best things in the box!  The fabric was really soft and felt like silk – I could move around in them – and the waistline was the perfect balance between mom jeans and a plumber’s peep-show.   I was surprised at how well they fit given I’d fudged the size a little bit – but I guess those two days of salads for lunch are really starting to pay off!

Now the pricepoint is a little out of my comfort zone, but I convinced myself that I only had one pair of skinny jeans and this would be a pair that I actually loved.  I (of course) googled them and found them for $79 at Zappo’s and $50 at Nordstrom Rack.  Totally worth the $20 worth of my time digging through Nordstrom racks to NOT find these jeans!

Verdict:  Keepin’ em!

Gilli Drape Front Navy Dress

My stylist totally had my number on this one!  I think I have 3 very similar dresses and I love them all…

I was worried when I initially put it on because it’s pretty snug in the waistline.  When I looked down on my belly, I definitely felt  4 months pregnant!  But oh, great magical properties of fabric gathering and draping!  When I looked at myself straight on, this dress totally camouflaged my tummy pooch!  And it’s navy blue.  Yes.  I need this dress. Possibly in every color!

IMG_5625IMG_5611

Verdict:  Keeping it!

Zad Silver Cuff

The last piece they sent was this metal cuff.  It’s cute and could certainly dress up an outfit, but I just don’t wear bracelets very often.  At work, they annoy me when they hit against my keyboard or my desk and I end up taking them off and losing them.  It’s a fine bracelet, but I think I have several “fine bracelets” in a (yet-to-be-unpacked) jewelry box in my closet.

IMG_5630

Verdict: Sending it back.

Overall

I thought my first Stitch Fix was pretty well done.  It saved me a trip to the mall (which is nearly impossible with a toddler in tow), and I found a couple of pieces that I wouldn’t otherwise have bought.  I’ll be honest and say that the prices are a little more than what I would normally pay (since I try to stick to the clearance racks), but maybe worth it when I’ve got a wardrobe of pieces that I actually want to wear and feel good in.

I’ve got another Stitch Fix on the way, so I’ll post what I get in that one, too.

I also signed up with Tog + Porter, a similar company and I’ll blog about that experience as well!

P.S.  If you want to try Stitch Fix, use my referral code and they’ll give me a credit towards my next purchase!  https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/5373672

Editor’s note: As it turns out, Stitch Fix gives you 25% off if you decide to keep everything in your shipment. I ended up keeping everything and paying only $10 more than I would have paid for the three items I really wanted. Jeans and a bracelet for $10? Yes, please!

So far, I’ve worn the Daniel Rainn white top at least 3 times and have gotten tons of compliments!  I’m so glad I kept it! (7/15/2015)

8 thoughts on “My Stitch Fix Has Arrived!

  1. What’s the most efficient way to tell my stylist that I love everything in this fix? Brand new to Stitch Fix.
    You look great, by the way! Love those jeans and the white top together.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t it great!!! My stylist is Hilary and she’s given me two great fixes so far! You can send your stylist a note with a link to my blog post to give her an idea of what you like. I’ve also heard lots of people recommend sharing your Pinterest page with your stylist. Thanks for checking out my blog! Good luck!!!

      Like

  2. Just so you know, if you find a price lower than Stitch Fix’s price, let them know. They will verify and credit you the difference. Their customer service is unparalleled. I’m in Atlanta, too. Burning up; I hate the summer here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

